Photo Feature: “In Dreams” a David Lynch Tribute Art Show at Spoke Art

by Admin on 03/11/2014

This month at Spoke Art is the debut exhibition of “In Dreams,” a group show composed of artworks that pay tribute to the films of director David Lynch. Already home to the very popular “Bad Dads” group show series that pays tribute to film director Wes Anderson (which has reached the attention and piqued the interest of the director himself), Spoke Art Gallery is becoming well-known in fostering connections between film, music, and visual arts audiences.

From the first film that launched him to success in 1977, Eraserhead to the Elephant Man in 1980 to the classic 1992 TV series Twin Peaks and Mulholland Drive in 2001, David Lynch and his particular style has secured a cult-like following among his supporters. The show includes over 50 local, national, and international artists who explore his complex and celebrated films, and in many works portraits of the director himself, through disparate mediums and approaches. With subject matter ranging from the idiosyncrasies of each film’s characters, the oft-recited memorable quotes, to the basic story-lines, the artists’ works in “In Dreams” provide a unique look into Lynch’s oeuvre.

Participating artists include Akira Beard, Alex Kirzhener, Allison Reimold, Audrey, Pongracz, Christine Hostetler, Cuyler Smith, Dave MacDowell, Epyon 5, Jason D’Aquino, Joel Daniel Phillips, Joemur, Johannah O’Donnell, John Wentz, Jonathan Wayshack, Kate Copeland, Kate Zambrano, Kelly Mckernan, Ken Davis, Kukula, Mandy Tsung, Matt Macabre, Meggs, Meghan Stratman, Michael Ramstead, Peter Adamyan, Rich Pellegrino, Rodrigo Cifuentes, Sandi Calistro, Sarah Joncas, Scarecrowoven, Veronica Fish, Zach Tutor, Evan B Harris, Fugscreens Studios, Matt Ritchie, Cuddly Rigor Mortis , Rebecca Rose, Tessa Morrison, Geoff Trapp, Guillaume Morellec, Adam Maida, Bartosz Kosowski, Blunt Graffix, Brian Methe, Chuck Sperry, Clint Wilson, David Moscati, Fernando Reza, Jermaine Rogers, Joshua Budich, Lauren Gregg, Matthew Skiff, Rhys Cooper, Sam Gilbey, Shaun Lynch, Tim Jordan, Mat Weller, Matt Chase, and Ruel Pascual.